Hong Kong Insurance Law Association (HILA)

HILA was first established in 1996 as the Hong Kong Chapter of AIDA. 

With continuous support of and active participation of key players in the industry, including underwriters, brokers, lawyers, academics and other intermediaries, HILA has been proactively promoting development of insurance law in Hong Kong. 

HILA hosts a wide range of events throughout the year, including seminars with a variety of topics. It provides a platform for debate, dialogue and collaboration between representatives of all sectors of the insurance law fraternity in Hong Kong on new legal and industry development. 

In order to promote exchange of ideas within the Asia-Pacific region, HILA maintains close ties with the Australian Insurance Law Association (AILA), Insurance Law Association of Singapore (ILAS) and the New Zealand Insurance Law Association (NZILA).

The continued growth and development of the HILA is now under the direction of Antony Sassi, the new Chair.


By HILA's Memorandum and Articles of Association (last updated on 2 May 2012), HILA operates as a non-profit-making company limited by guarantee with its activities directed by the Board including the Office Bearers who are elected each year at an AGM.

Office Bearers, including the Chairman and the Vice Chairman, are customarily appointed for a one-year term and are ineligible to serve for more than three successive years. HILA engages a Secretariat and appoints external auditors to approve its annual accounts.  

Fuller details of HILA’s history and activities can be found on its website: http://hila.com.hk/

  • HILA Secretariat
  • HILA Secretariat
    58/F Central Plaza
    18 Harbour Road
    Hong Kong
  • secretariat@hila.com.hk
  • +852 2216 7169


Caroline Thomas


Antony Sassi

Past Chair

Nigel Taylor

Vice Chairman

Jerome McDonagh


Jamie Sparkes

Seminars Officer

Dylan Bryant

Website Officer

Gary Meggitt

Publications Officer and Research Officer

Joyce Sze Ho Chan

Committee Member

Fiona Stewart

Committee Member

Peter Grégoire

Committee Member

Catherine Cooper

Committee Member